All Things Fall (So Far In 2013)

Hey guys,

Have any of you been affected by the fall time flu’s yet? Wow, here in Humboldt it is rampant (which that in itself isn’t unusual) and unfortunately all of my family got hit at the same time last week by a stomach bug then a cold! We’re actually still trucking through some symptoms (I’m actually wearing a baby-snot covered shirt now) but feeling a lot better. The only remedies I used for my now 7 month old are baby vicks and steam immersion. I wish that there was more I could do! For his little body I want to stay as natural as possible, but on mommy groups I’m a part of on Facebook, the only suggestion I hadn’t considered was sucking the snot out of their nose with my mouth –nope that’s not a typo; yuck!

On another note, I had told you guys I’d let you know (and share pictures) when we went to the pumpkin patch. Jacob wasn’t really feeling it which wasn’t shocking, but we did try our best to get some cute shots, and ended up with a couple! We also did get our professional photos back but are still trying to figure out what size prints we are going to buy. As soon as we get everything back, I will share those.

IMG_1910 IMG_1919 IMG_1945 IMG_1946 IMG_1963 IMG_1986

That last picture is the final result of a mini pumpkin carving party I had with a couple of friends. Can you guess which one I did (hint: it’s the one with the ghost. 😉 )?

     We also had baby’s first Halloween not too long later! I took him to my old work and to visit some family. He loved his little giraffe costume, and did so well wearing the little hooded part.

 

IMG_4661Here he is with his grammie when we tried his costume on.
     The night of Halloween we just ended up passing out candy at home, trick or treating primo hour in my town is right around dinner/bath/bed time, and we get a lot of trick-or-treaters, so we just thought it best to keep him at home this  year. Speaking of trick-or-treaters in my town, I borrowed a manual counting clicker thing (like they used to use on school buses) and I got 652 of them! Crazy, right? We ran out of candy at around 7 pm, but luckily my mom lives close by and rescued us. That stash of candy, though, only got us until 8:30. And even after we shut off every light and the tv, we still had people trying to knock at our door!
     So as Thanksgiving is just around the corner, I am excited to host my third dinner with my husband at our home. With that comes menu planning and delegating dish duties–which I always enjoy doing! This year I’ve added the task on myself of picking out some interesting beverages and finding a signature drink! My endgame is to give the recipe out at the end of the evening as an extra treat with leftovers. In order to find some delicious beverages, we decided to try a bottle of something or a new drink every couple of days before dinner. Not to mean we’re alcoholics,but I thought it’d be a fun way for us to step out of our comfort zone in the alcohol area, and it gets my husband involved in the planning process. We’ve already tried one drink that we will definitely be featuring:
IMG_4762 IMG_4763
This stuff is seriously amazing! It,in my opinion, tastes like light champagne with an apple twist. An added bonus is that it’s gluten-free!
     Stay tuned for more Thanksgiving-esque material here! 🙂 Do you have a signature holiday drink?

 

Leave a Reply

