A Small Gesture of Gratitude

Hey everyone,

So my husband is on his way to starting a new adventure with a new job, but he has been at his previous place of employment for almost seven years. If he hadn’t started at that business in the first place he probably wouldn’t have gotten his commercial drivers license. So I thought I’d make a little something to just kind of tip my hat to his company and thank them for their keeping my husband employed. 🙂

Since he did work for a trucking company, I wanted to make something that was more or less easy to eat while on the go. I’m sure they have time to eat before they take off for the day, but just in case they weren’t hungry, I wanted them to be able to enjoy the goodies anyway.

Now I can’t rag on people making cookies or brownies to bring to work, but it’s just not really my thing. I like to kind of venture outside of the box and give people a treat that’s a little less expected. That’s why I chose to make Vintage French Breakfast Puffs.

I definitely ventured away from the standard way of preparing this recipe in that I didn’t roll them in sugar and cinnamon at all, but instead just added all of the ingredients into the batter. I think it threw the baking time off, which I unfortunately didn’t think about before putting them in the oven. Luckily I did two batches, so I managed to get some that weren’t quite as burnt to give to my hubby’s coworkers.

IMG_4638 IMG_4639 IMG_4640 IMG_4643 IMG_4644 IMG_4646 IMG_4650

 

I think overall they turned out well! You could really taste the sweet element that came from adding the extra sugar and cinnamon directly into the batter, but they weren’t too sweet. They were perfect with coffee, and my husband said his coworkers gobbled them up in no time. I’m really happy they enjoyed them. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

