The Easiest Apple Sauce Recipe–Ever!

Hey all,

Yes, you read right, I have found it. The best, easiest, and least time-consuming thing to do with apples ever! As I like to do, I was surfing around pinterest when I found this link to this Martha Stewart recipe. I did end up tweaking the recipe slightly, which I’ll explain as I take you through the pictures.

Here’s the original recipe: (for helpful tips/more details, check out referenced link above)

INGREDIENTS
  • 4 pounds apples, such as McIntosh, Gala, and Braeburn
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (from 2 lemons)
  • 3 tablespoons dark-brown sugar (optional)

DIRECTIONS

  1. STEP 1

    Peel, core, and slice apples.

  2. STEP 2

    In a large pot, bring apples, lemon juice, and 1 1/2 cups water to a boil over high. Reduce heat and simmer until apples are very soft and falling apart, 25 to 30 minutes.

  3. STEP 3

    Mash with a potato masher or pulse in a food processor until smooth with small chunks remaining. (Add sugar, if using.)

  4. STEP 4

    Let cool, then transfer applesauce to airtight containers.

…And here’s my take:

 

 

IMG_3977

So, FIrstly, instead of using exactly four pounds of the aforementioned varied types of apples, I picked the apples above off of the tree in my front yard (yes FRONT. I don’t understand why it’s there either).

IMG_3978

 

Instead of slicing the apples, after I peeled and cored them, I simply just cut them into quarters. I figured that since most of the apples from my tree were fairly smaller than average store-bought, that it wouldn’t make too much of a difference.
IMG_3981

 

Instead of weighing exactly 4 lbs (who does that, anyhow?) I just filled my medium-sized soup pot about halfway up.IMG_3982

 

Since after adding the 1/4 c lemon juice and 1.5 c of water still left some apples without any fluid, I decided to add another 1/2 c water. Even more couldn’t have really hurt things considering that barely even covered them.
IMG_3983

 

Pretty much the only step of the recipe I left unrevised was adding the 3 tbsp of brown sugar. This was before mashing as the recipe states to do, but as you can see here, there wasn’t that much solid apple left to mash at the end of it.IMG_3984

There’s the finished product! It tasted awesome, by the way. I was super happy with how much you got from it also; I had enough to give to my parents and my in-laws. 🙂 Sharing is caring!

Related articles

One response to “The Easiest Apple Sauce Recipe–Ever!

Leave a Reply

