What I Got For $20 At Baby’s First Farmer’s Market

Hey all,

So even though it wasn’t the nicest day on Saturday, I decided to take baby on his maiden voyage to the farmer’s market in Arcata. It’s easily the best in Humboldt in my opinion, and has been going on for over 21 years.

I decided to challenge myself to see what I could get for $20 since it had been a long time since I’d been there and didn’t really know what I was getting myself into. It was an experience that’s for sure! That’s one thing that is nice about living so close to such an eclectic city, you sure are in for some entertainment whenever you head there. Especially in the city’s main plaza where the market is ran!

So what all did I get for $20? I was actually fairly surprised at all that I got.

The first thing that I saw that I HAD to try was an oyster vendor that was serving single oysters for $2. I absolutely love oysters, and this booth had an absolutely delicious lemon garlic butter oyster. I’ll be hitting that booth up first thing the next time baby and I hit the market for sure.

Here’s a list of everything else:

IMG_1723

A half pound of green beans

IMG_1728

A basket of fresh strawberries (although this had to be my biggest disappointment out of all the things I purchased: there were already moldy berries in the basket as I was eating through them that day…not pleased!)

IMG_1727

This chocolate chip cookie with sea salt from arise bakery. They are actually just a commercial bakery that’s supplied in different restaurants/grocery stores, I was actually very pleasantly surprised with the flavor for being 100% gluten-free!

A little lavender goat milk soap from Kneeland Glen Dairy Goats. It smells so delicious and it’s really creamy feeling.

IMG_1726

Spun honey from Reed’s Bees. This is my favorite buy out of the whole lot. I’m not a huge fan of honey unless I’m in the perfect mood, but this stuff is like honey and butter had a baby. It’s sweet without being too rot-your-teeth-out candy sweet, and it doesn’t have such a sticky consistency.

IMG_1724

Three apricots…I was definitely the most excited about these…I have had an infatuation with apricots since I went to Italy. I can’t wait to get some more!

IMG_1729

One thing that I bought that I didn’t manage to take a picture of was some lavender lemonade from Humboldt Hot Dogs. I first tried this at the Oyster Fest this year, and it’s very refreshing!

…I couldn’t help also, right before I left the market, picking up this GORGEOUS dahlia for a dollar. I knew I had a bud vase this would look perfect in, and I was right! Nothing like a little natural color to brighten your mood. 🙂

IMG_1733 IMG_1736

Here are some other pictures from our day Jacob was such a good boy the entire time…slept through the whole thing! :

IMG_3404 IMG_3406 IMG_3407 IMG_3409 IMG_3410

Leave a Reply

