Oysterfest 2012

Hey guys,

So this past weekend was the Arcata Mainstreet Oysterfest 2012, and let’s just say, this one didn’t disappoint. I got there at about 1pm and stayed til the end and of course it was packed. Lines were ridiculous, people were crawling all over the streets as well as on the plaza, the food was AMAZING and the music fit the vibe perfectly.

Overall, I’d say it was a success. It was actually even a nice, warm day which was a big difference from last year’s blustery wind.

If you want more info as far as which restaurants won what awards, the Times Standard article here has a good summary. I actually didn’t get a chance to eat any oysters from the Plaza Grill which was my biggest regret of that day–well that and not wearing sunscreen on my shoulders.

The only two things that I wish were different were that for one, I wish that this dang thing was in a larger venue! I know that it being at the plaza has its benefits and appeal, but it is just becoming way too big; the lines were ridiculous and I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I was crammed into a group of people or almost getting ran over by someone.

Here are a couple of pics from the day:

20120618-214756.jpg

20120618-214819.jpg

20120618-214833.jpg

20120618-214852.jpg

20120618-214915.jpg

20120618-214932.jpg

Talk to you guys later,

Andrea

Leave a Reply

